Sisterhood of Sleuths

A clever and thought-provoking mystery that pays homage to classic Nancy Drew stories, perfect for fans of Wendy Mass and Trenton Lee Stewart. 

Maizy always assumed she knew everything about her grandmother, Jacuzzi. So when a box full of vintage Nancy Drew books gets left at her mom’s thrift store, Maizy is surprised to find an old photo of her grandmother and two other women tucked beneath the collection. Stranger still, when Maizy shows the photo to Jacuzzi she feigns ignorance, insisting the woman is someone else. Determined to learn the truth — and inspired by the legacy of Nancy Drew — Maizy launches her own investigation with the help of new friends, Nell and Cam. What they discover not only points to the origins of the iconic series, but uncovers a truth from the past that will lead to self-discovery in the present, connecting three generations of women.

This intergenerational mystery filled with literary history, friendship, and family secrets delivers a captivating tribute to the world’s most famous girl detective.

Christy Ottaviano Books / Little, Brown (September 2022)
with illustrations by Vesper Stamper
HARDCOVER / ISBN-13: 9780316331074

Buy Book Scavenger
Christy Ottaviano Books Bookshop Indiebound Barnes and Noble Books a Million Amazon Libro
Buy Book Scavenger

An Indie Next List pick for November/December 2022

Barnes and Noble Most Anticipated Book of October 2022

Amazon Best Book of the Month

To be published in French with Editions Robert Laffont

Reviews

“A strong theme of evolving friendships pervades this fun and funny mystery narrated in Maizy’s lively voice, while the Nancy Drew motif infuses the plot with fascinating, thoroughly researched historical details about the series’ creation and survival . . . . An engaging pick for mystery fans and wannabe sleuths.” —Kirkus Reviews

“A lively, well-paced story with several elements of mystery.”Booklist

Sisterhood of Sleuths reminded me of everything I loved about the Nancy Drew books, and introduced me to a new heroine worth rooting for!”Jennifer A. Nielsen, New York Times bestselling author of The False Prince

The perfect book for mystery fans of all ages—a classic that explores the Nancy Drew icon in a contemporary light.” Fleur Bradley, author of the award-winning Midnight at the Barclay Hotel

Sisterhood of Sleuths is an irresistible blend of history, mystery, humor, and heart. –Megan Wagner Lloyd, author of Allergic and Haven

“Characters that jump off the page, authentic friendships that twist and turn, and fun laugh-out-loud moments make this homage to Nancy Drew a classic in its own right.” Ann Braden, award-winning author of The Benefits of Being an Octopus and Flight of the Puffin

 

“Good luck trying to put this suspenseful, hilarious, and heartwarming mystery down! With a fascinating mix of present-day problems and true-life literary history, Sisterhood of Sleuths will open readers’ eyes–and leave them ready to unleash their inner Nancy Drews.” Tara Dairman, author of the All Four Stars series and The Girl From Earth’s End

 

Building on beautifully-woven themes of forgiveness and female empowerment, Sisterhood of Sleuths is Bertman at her best: engaging, authentic characters, plenty of plot, and layers of mystery to uncover. I have a hunch you’re going to love this book. Elaine Vickers, bestselling author of Thankful, Like MagicPaper Chains, and Half Moon Summer

“An enormously engaging book-focused mystery.” –Claudia Mills, author of The Lost Language and Write this Down

“Such a fun read! Young mystery fans will love following the clues leading to the mystery of who brought the box of Nancy Drew books to Maizy’s mother’s bookshop, and why is her grandmother’s picture in there. Jacuzzi, (grandma) denies bringing the box in at all. Maizy and her friends work hard to solve the mystery, and these true to life friendships evolve and grow over time. A sweet and engaging book for all.” -Second Star to the Right Children’s Books (Denver, CO)

“An ode to Nancy Drew, this new book by the author of the Book Scavenger series explores the power of the female sleuth in a modern setting. Maizy is a budding movie director who is given a set of vintage Nancy Drew novels by an unknown sender, complete with an undeniable photo of Maizy’s grandmother inside. But when her grandmother not only denies sending the books but also refuses to acknowledge she is the young woman in the photo, a mystery is afoot. Full of surprises and twists, friends found and lost, this standalone novel in honor of the ground-breaking Nancy Drew will not disappoint a young modern detective.” -Barbara’s Bookstore (Chicago, IL)

 

“This book is a tribute to Nancy Drew and a good kids mystery. Jennifer Berman even uses some the names from the Nancy Drew series. While learning about the Nancy Drew series her grandmother loved, the main character Mazie, solves a mystery where she also learns about friendship and some family secrets.” -A Likely Story Bookstore (Sykesville, MD)

“Jennifer Chambliss Bertman is a genius, no mystery about it! Jennifer has crafted a modern day mystery intertwined with the history of the Nancy Drew stories from almost 100 years ago. Maizy finds a box of the books outside her mom’s store. But what makes the box even more curious, is the photo of her grandma inside one of the books. However, her grandma denies that it’s her. And to make matters worse, her best friend doesn’t seem to care about her anymore. And, the big school project is due in two weeks. Sisterhood of Sleuths is a mystery, but it is filled with humor, laughs, and a surprise or two.” -BookBar Inc (Denver, CO)

“Book Scavenger author Jen Bertman has a real hit with this clever, retro-feel middle grade mystery . With vintage Nancy Drew books, a darling resale shop, a puzzling old photo, and a grandmother named Jacuzzi with a deep dark secret, Sisterhood of Sleuths is the perfect feel-good read for voracious middle grade readers ( and their cool grandmas too).”  -The Country Bookshop (Southern Pines, NC)

“This sweet, fun homage to Nancy Drew is sure to appeal to young mystery fans and budding detectives. Nancy Drew has endured for over a century because of the idea she represents: that women are smart, capable, independent, and brave. Maizy and her friends are the same, cruising around on their bicycles and investigating mysteries. But this isn’t just a mystery story, or a celebration of Nancy; it’s also a sensitive, empathetic exploration of what happens when people and relationships change. Navigating friendships in middle school (and after) can be really tough and this book does an excellent job of showing how it’s okay for people to grow apart and sometimes even back together. Just treat yourself and others with the kindness you would want and be honest with your feelings. It’s an important lesson tucked inside of a great read.”  -The Book Seller (Grass Valley, CA)

“Wow, this book quickly became a contender for book of the Pandemic and ousted my insecurities, reminded me of the crucial role of making friends with good books, and gave me a fresh appreciation of Nancy Drew. I am amazed by the depth of characters in the most realistic detailed portrayal of friendships of all ages I’ve seen on any page. I was laughing along with the story and loved all the feels I got by the endearing dialogue. Full of memorable lessons, this story is sure to reveal the Nancy Drew in every reader.”  -Books Inc. (Palo Alto, CA)

 

MENU