Uncategorized

A Peek at the Creative Space of Cindy L. Rodriguez

Cindy L. Rodriguez is the author of the young adult novel, When Reason Breaks:     “13 Reasons Why meets the poetry of Emily Dickinson in this gripping debut novel perfect for fans of Sara Zarr or Jennifer Brown.A Goth girl with an attitude problem, Elizabeth Davis must learn to control her anger before it destroys her. Emily Delgado appears to be a smart, sweet girl, with a normal life, but as depression clutches at her, she struggles to feel normal. Both girls are in Ms. Diaz’s English class, where they connect to the words of Emily Dickinson. Both are hovering on the edge of an emotional precipice.… Read the rest

50 Books to 50 States Giveaway and Game!

So yesterday I mentioned I have something fun in the works . . .  I’m excited to share the new website for the Book Scavenger series, designed by the awesome Jenny Medford of Websy Daisy. To celebrate the launch of this website, I‘m giving away FIFTY advance copies of Book Scavenger–one to a winner in each state. It’s my hope that the recipients of the advance copies will help launch a book hunting game in the spirit of the one in my novel. You can enter up to five times–read this post to find out all the details! (And if you’re interested, you can also read the first chapter on the About the Book page!)… Read the rest

A Peek at the Creative Space of Sandra Waugh

Joining us for Creative Spaces is Sandra Waugh. Sandra’s debut novel, Lark Rising, publishes today. Welcome to the world, Lark! Lark Rising is a YA fantasy, and the first in a series called “Guardians of Tarnec.” About Lark Rising, Publisher’s Weekly said: “The fantastical realm is depicted in vivid detail, simultaneously ethereal and concrete, and populated by both kindly and menacing characters to guide and torment Lark, making this novel a tantalizing glimpse of what is yet to come. [Lark is] a formidable heroine beneath her reserved and gentle demeanor.” To learn more about Sandra and her writing, read this great interview at Fearless Fifteeners, visit her website, and follow her on Twitter.   Describe your workspace.… Read the rest

A Peek at the Creative Space of Carrie A. Pearson

Joining us today for Creative Spaces is author (and one of my wonderful critique partners) Carrie Pearson! Carrie is celebrating the release of her nonfiction nature picture book A Cool Summer Tail. Published by Arbordale Publishing and illustrated by Christina Wald, A Cool Summer Tail uses humor, rhyme, and compare/contrast elements to explore the amazing ways animals adapt to heat. A Cool Summer Tail is a companion to A Warm Winter Tail, which won a Gelett Burgess Award and was selected for the Great Lakes, Great Reads literacy program. To celebrate the publication of A Cool Summer Tail, Carrie is giving away a copy and a plush animal to one lucky reader who comments either on this post or one of the following interviews from last week: Anastasia Suen: Booktalking Nonfiction Monday Brittney Breakey: Author Turf Deborah Diesen: Jumping the Candlestick The winner will be drawn randomly and announced on Carrie’s blog on August 19.… Read the rest

A Peek at the Creative Space of Samantha Vamos

Samantha Vamos is the author of Alphabet Trucks (Charlesbridge, 2013, illustrated by Ryan O’Rourke), The Cazuela That the Farm Maiden Stirred (Charlesbridge, 2011, illustrated by Rafael López), and Before You Were Here, Mi Amor (Viking, 2009, illustrated by Santiago Cohen).  Alphabet Trucks is a rhyming, alphabet story about 26 different trucks and how they serve their communities. Alphabet Trains (Charlesbridge) will be published in 2015. The Cazuela That the Farm Maiden Stirred won a Pura Belpré Illustration Honor and starred reviews from Kirkus and School Library Journal. Samantha attended Georgetown University Law Center and practiced law in Washington, D.C. and Chicago.… Read the rest